Why a one-man freelance web developer is better than a team

Anees Khan
5 min readDec 9, 2021

Diary of a Programmer Part 2
(part 1)

This discussion came during a meeting with a client, as a freelance web developer. As expected, a client will judge the strength/capability of a web development company by asking the all-famous question: HOW BIG IS YOUR TEAM?

Photo by Grzegorz Walczak on Unsplash

Nothing wrong with that, because I used to hire external web developer companies or freelance web developer as part of my employment company and I asked the exact same question before. Surely that must be a good indicator of how good they are, right? Most times, yes, I do agree with that. But this article is about those times when this thinking just won’t stand.

Example 1:
I have worked as part of such a “team” before. I wouldn’t call it a team exactly. It was just a group of us programmers put together, and as the sales guy clinch up new sales, the project will be pushed to one of us, not caring how many we already are handling.

So, me being just an employee, I have to clear all these jobs before I can go home. So, despite my best intentions, I had to cut some corners, knowing full well, that that action is going to come back as a bug next time. But next-time issues are issues for another day, right? I need to show something today so that I can go home…

--

--

Anees Khan

Anees Khan is a freelance web and mobile app developer, and a software developer, for the past 28 years, and is running Getcha Solutions (getcha.com)