Diary of a Programmer [11]

They label my laziness as discipline

Anees Khan
7 min readNov 30, 2023
Photo by Gabrielle Henderson on Unsplash

A few years ago, I was being interviewed by someone who ran a certain publication. The article was about how a freelancer (that is myself) had ran a freelance web development and programming service for over 2 decades.

During the interview, there were many questions she (the reporter) asked, and I just answered them truthfully, as and how it happens. More than for her, it was also for me a great eye-opener, to see how I’m actually running my own business.

All these insights have, over the years, auto-molded into my subconscious, that I do not see it distinctly anymore . So, yes, it was an eye-opener for me as well.

Anyway, during the interview, she somehow got the impression that I’m a very disciplined person. Why? Maybe it was the systematic and procedural method of how I do things in general.

Or more specifically, how I carry out my web and mobile development projects, which is as follows:

  1. When a Client gives me a Project, I don’t just accept it and somehow work on it (a mistake I still see many developers doing). Instead, I create a Specs Doc, that covers ALL the modules that have to be developed. Also, any other miscellaneous tasks or items that are part of the project.

--

--

Anees Khan

Anees Khan is a freelance web and mobile app developer, and a software developer, for the past 28 years, and is running Getcha Solutions (getcha.com)