Diary of a Programmer [10]

Has the price of software development dropped or what?

Anees Khan
2 min readNov 18, 2023
Software Development is not cheap
Software Development is not cheap

Been getting many queries on my software development service lately. And that’s the only good news.

Many are dropping off like flies after the first queries. Reason: due to my costing being high.

And the funny thing is: I’m actually costing lower than before. So, I’m confused on this latest behavioral trend.

What is sometimes even more appalling is, like what my recent client did. This is what he said.

He told me the long list of requirements, and then followed by the sentence: “I can give you continuous work if service good.”.

All these are good and great! But only if the client didn’t have a miniscule budget. But his budget was only around $300 (an average figure I calculated from all such prospects’ budget).

I fully understand budget situations, but what I don’t understand is they sitting down to write that long list of requirements, which will take a software developer some weeks to develop, and expecting to pay only $300! To say a coarser word, they really had the gall to think so?

To say a similar scenario, it’s like the same person walking into a supermarket, and he picks all the things that fancies him, into the shopping…

--

--

Anees Khan

Anees Khan is a freelance web and mobile app developer, and a software developer, for the past 28 years, and is running Getcha Solutions (getcha.com)